Those menacing flashing lights in the rear-view mirror can quickly lead to your sitting in a cell, wondering what happens next. An arrest for DUI charges in Kansas is frightening and serious. The consequences of conviction are overwhelming. The single best thing you can do right now is take a deep breath and find the right attorney.
We’re Right Here for You
Norton Hare, located in Overland Park, represents people charged with DUI in greater Kansas City and beyond. Our lawyers and staff have a wealth of knowledge in the area of Kansas DUI and can answer your questions, simplify the process, and put your mind at ease as your case works its way through the system.
Kansas DUI Penalties: A Closer Look at What You’re Facing
Kansas DUI penalties are divided between administrative and judicial charges.
After your arrest, you have 14 days to request an administrative hearing to decide the fate of your license. If you fail to do so, your license will be suspended thirty days after the initial charge and then restricted to an ignition interlock device after the suspension.
The judicial penalties may come later, but they’re just as severe. They start with a minimum of a 48-hour jail sentence and range up to a year in jail for multiple offenses if there is a conviction. Fines range from $750 to $2500, depending on the number of times you’ve been convicted. For every conviction an ignition interlock device is required on your vehicle.
Implied Consent for Chemical Tests
In the event you refuse to take a chemical test after you’ve been stopped, your license will be automatically suspended for one year thanks to Kansas’ implied consent laws. If this is your second offense, you will be subject to a one year license suspension followed by three years of ignition interlock.
Your First Offense May Be Different
Not only do first offenses tend to carry fewer penalties, but Kansas DUI charges are unique in that some cases may be eligible for the diversion program. It’s essentially a contract between you and the state that says you agree to participate in a treatment program, comply with certain terms and conditions (like abstaining from alcoholic beverages) and pay a fine. In return, after a year, the charges are dismissed. Diversion does not result in a conviction for the DUI. Only an attorney can help you decide whether the diversion program is right for you.
What You Shouldn’t Do
- Don’t answer any more questions than necessary. The officers involved are not your friends. They’re not simply chatting with you. They’re looking for evidence to help convict you on DUI charges. Feel free to use the phrase “I have been advised not to answer any questions.”
- Don’t give up. A DUI charge is not a conviction. There are many excellent DUI defenses a good attorney can employ to help lessen impact of the charges or have them dismissed entirely. You are innocent until proven guilty, even if it feels like the other way around.
- Don’t talk about the case with anyone other than your attorney. This includes your close family and friends, but it also includes your virtual friends on social media. The worst thing you can do right now is chat about your case on Facebook or Twitter.
- Don’t get involved in other incidents involving alcohol. One thing you certainly don’t want to do right now is get arrested for another incident that prosecutors can point to during your trial.
What You Should Do
- Remain calm and cooperative. The more belligerent you get with officers and officers of the court, the more likely you are to suffer far greater penalties.
- Contact an attorney immediately. You need someone who will fight to protect your rights; the sooner you get one involved, the sooner they can start building a solid defense.
Contact Us Now
We have the knowledge and experience to change the outcome of your DUI case. Don’t preoccupy yourself with possible penalties until you’ve scheduled a free consultation session with us.